A Get-To-Know-Me Survey (aka I Like Talking About Myself)

Hello, and good morning!

A couple weeks ago Ashley at A Lady Goes West posted this fun little survey and invited folks to answer the survey questions too. I love talking about myself, so I am totally game. So here are some things about me.

1. What’s your whole name?

Emily Catherine Farnham

2. Are you named after anyone?

My middle name comes from my Great Grandma Kate. It’s a family name that’s shared by my aunt, a couple cousins, and now Buttercup (her full name is Mercedes Catherine)!

3. Do you have any siblings?

Yup, I’m the oldest of three with a sister (Amanda) and a brother.

4. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Minnesota, and grew up in Omaha, Nebraska.

5. What activities did you do in high school?

I was a dance/band nerd hybrid with strong academic competition inclinations.  Along with being on the dance team (the “Elkanettes”), marching band (flag line), and concert band (very pathetic bass clarinet) I competed in Destination Imagination (formerly Odyssey of the Mind), Academic Decathlon (we went to nationals my senior year!) and that one time in Quiz Bowl that we don’t talk about.

6. Where did you go to college?

I went to University of Nebraska-Lincoln. You are required to have a brief understanding of college football and understand the implications of shouting, “Go Big Red!” as a prerequisite.

7. What activities did you do in college?

More marching band! I was on the UNL color guard for two years, and got to go to the Rose Bowl for the National Championships in 2001. You know, the one where Florida State completely annihilated Nebraska. Good times. College is also when I got into cycling and was on the UNL Cycling Team for several years, where I won the 2006 Nebraska State Cycling Championship in Women’s Cat. 4. Because I was the only cat. 4 woman racer to show up that day. Women’s racing at Nebraska got a bit better after I left. I think there are at least 3 racers now.

8. What did you study in college?

I have my B.S. in Industrial Management and Systems Engineering. Which is basically a degree in business with a lot of math and engineering classes so you can say, “I’m an engineer.”

9. What was your first job out of college?

I found a gig as a design engineer for a solar power equipment distribution company. I assisted the contractors buying equipment from us with their solar system designs for residential and commercial installations. To my knowledge, none of the systems I designed caught fire or blew up.

10. What kind of music do you like?

Right now I’m really addicted to the “Pompeii” station on Pandora. Apparently I like a lot of mid-2000s emo rock. I once read some Buzzfeed article about “What Emo Lyrics Mean” or something and every song I was like, “Ooh, that’s a good one! Ooh, I like that one too!” I never realized I was Emo until that moment. I also like Pitbull for workouts, “Fireball” is currently my keep-hitting-repeat song of choice. And Matisyaho to turn around a bad day.

11. What’s one hobby that you’d like to take up?

I wish I could sing, but I’m tone-deaf (see “pathetic base clarinetist” in Question#5).

12. What did you think you wanted to be when you grew up?

I was always really drawn to science-y fields. I wanted to be an entomologist because I thought bugs were cool and I was that kid turning rocks up all over the backyard. Then I saw that scene in “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom” where they’re stuck in that room full of bugs and that was the end of that career. I also wanted to be an astronaut until I found out NASA has a height limit (I’m 5’0”). Then I wanted to be a chemical engineer, but my first chem lab in college had me going, nope nope nope.

13. What’s the biggest project on your to-do list right now?

Personally, doing this Whole30 and starting to get into running again. Health and well being is a full time gig, yo. For my family, it’s trying to buy a house in the Bay Area, but that’s mostly my husband’s project since he’s the one with the real estate license. I just contribute very helpful things like saying, “I want a white house.”

14. Do you have any irrational fears?

I’m always imagining horrible, completely-unrealistic-but-COULD-happen things happening to my kids. I think that’s a pretty normal part of parenting.

15. Have you ever traveled outside the country? If so, where and when?

In 2013 for a “babymoon” Hulk and I went to London. It was my first time outside the U.S. and I wanted to go to a country where I was somewhat confident I could speak the language. It was so awesome, an we want to go back.

16. When’s your next vacation and where are you going?

I really don’t know. I’ve been talking to my folks about bringing the kids to visit them in Wisconsin sometime this summer. We always talk about vacations, but before kids we would actually go, whereas now it takes a little more to coordinate even a day trip to Sonoma!

17. Do you speak any other languages?

Not really. I learned French in high school, but I would never consider myself fluent. Our babysitter is a native French speaker and has been teaching Squish some French, which is adorable.

18. What’s one talent that you wish you had?

A photographic memory. Especially since I’ve gone through baby brain. But I imagine that’s one of those things that sounds cool, but if you actually have a photographic memory, it might come with drawbacks that make it not so cool.

19. What’s something that you wish you did more of?

Travel! I love love love to travel. I’m looking forward to my next assignment at work, but I also want to travel more for fun. And not necessarily the big places, but also just places I’ve never been, just so I can check them out, from Boise, ID to Rio de Janeiro.

20. If you weren’t in your current job, what would you want to be doing?

Ooh, tough question. If it’s doing something different based on what I know now, it would be a software developer. I think it would be fun, and I’ve dabbled in some coding courses before, but I just don’t have the patience right now to pick up a new skill. If I didn’t know how awesome the job market for development was around here, I would probably be doing something in dance or theatre, like a choreographer or something. There’s both sides of the job scale for you!

Okay, your turn! Tell me something about you.

Go make it a great day!